Institute of Environmental Biotechnology


Mission statement

The research activities at the Institute for Environmental Biotechnology (UT) focus to the exploitation of the microbial metabolism to safeguard the quality of life and preserve natural resources. On the one hand, emphasis is put on degradation or detoxification of pollutants (in soil, water and waste) or the development of monitoring methods to evaluate the success of restoration technologies. On the other hand, the best possible utilization of existing resources by establishment of sustainable material cycles is the central aim of research conducted. Apart from the investigation of microbial processes, enzymes are exploited as powerful biocatalysts for (bio)material processing, in recycling applications and in bioenergy production.

Practical application and process development for technical implementation are a primary concern independent from fundamental mechanistic investigation of the underlying microbiological activities and enzyme catalyzed reactions. Examples are the scale up of fermentation processes, the development of technical remediation methods and the testing of innovative combined biological-physical processes (e.g. use of membrane bioprocesses) in environmental technology.

The Institute has excellent equipped laboratories with state-of-the-art infrastructure microbiology, enzyme technology and bioprocess engineering including analytical instruments and a pilot plant for fermentation processes (up to 6000 litres). This forms the basis for a high number of industrial research cooperations and basic research projects.

Organisation chart

Organisation chart of the Institute of Environmental Biotechnology
Organisation chart of the Institute of Environmental Biotechnology

Staff

The applied research orientation is best demonstrated in the composition of the department's personnel: the team consists of BOKU staff and staff from research centers like ACIB or Bioenergy2020 - about 100 persons at the average whereof 80% are project collaborators and the residiual is permanent staff.
Internationality is lived day by day, since up to 10 different nations are represented by free financed colleagues and students.

For details follow the menu item Persons

Management and Administration

Addresses & Contact

Institut für Umweltbiotechnologie


Leitbild

Der Schwerpunkt der Forschungsaktivitäten am Institut für Umweltbiotechnologie liegt auf der Nutzung mikrobiologischer Stoffwechselvorgänge zur Sicherung der Lebensqualität und zur Wahrung natürlicher Ressourcen. Auf der einen Seite stehen der Abbau und die Entgiftung von Schadstoffen (in Boden, Wasser und Abfall) sowie die Entwicklung von Monitoring-Methoden zur Bewertung des Risikos, das von kontaminierten Medien ausgeht. Auf der anderen Seite stellt die bestmögliche Nutzung vorhandener Ressourcen durch Schaffung nachhaltiger Stoffkreisläufe ein zentrales Ziel der am Institut betriebenen Forschung dar. Neben der Untersuchung mikrobieller Prozesse, wird das Potential von Enzymem als leistungsfähige Biokatalysatoren zur Verarbeitung von (Bio)materialien, in Recycling-Prozessen sowie bei der Erzeugung von Bioenergy erforscht.

Zusätzlich zur Erforschung grundlegender mikrobieller Prozesse nehmen die praktische Anwendung und die Prozessentwicklung für die technische Realisierung eine herausragende Rolle ein. Als Beispiele dafür können die Übertragung vom Labormaßstab auf den großtechnischen Maßstab bei Fermentationsprozessen, die Entwicklung von Sanierungsmethoden für den Feldeinsatz und die Erprobung innovativer biologisch-physikalischer Kombinationsprozesse (z. B. der Einsatz von Membranen in der Bioprozesstechnik) in der Umwelttechnik genannt werden.

Das Institut verfügt über bestens ausgestatte Labors mit modernsten Analysengeräten und entsprechender Infrastruktur sowie Brut- und Kühlräume, einen Steril-Bereich, Werkstätten, Versuchsanlagen und eine Pilotanlage für Fermentationen. Diese Voraussetzungen ermöglichen es Forschungs- und Projektverantwortlichen, erfolgreich Forschungskooperationen mit Industriepartnern einzugehen.

Organigramm

Organigramm des Instituts für Umweltbiotechnologie
Organigramm des Instituts für Umweltbiotechnologie

Personal

Die angewandte Ausrichtung des Instituts zeigt sich insbesondere in der Personalstruktur: das Team aus BOKU Angestellten und Mitarbeitern in Forschungszentren wie ACIB oder Bioenergy2020 setzt sich aus durchschnittlich 100 Personen zusammen, wovon 80% Projektmitarbeiter sind, der Rest ist Stammpersonal. Internationalität wird am Institut tagtäglich gelebt, so sind bis zu 10 Nationen gleichzeitig als Projektmitarbeiter und Austauschstudenten vertreten.

Details siehe unter Personen des Instituts für Umweltbiotechnologie.

Ausschreibungen

Leitung und Sekretariat

Adressen & Kontakt