Research


Latest SCI publications

Latest Projects

Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2017-06-01 - 2021-05-31

The application of biologic soil additives based on beneficial microbes is an interesting and durable alternative to existing fertilizing methods. A mixture of beneficial microbes will be developed, optimized to control the fungal genus Fusarium. Fusarium diseases on small grain cereals (Fusarium head blight, FHB) and on maize (Fusarium ear rot, FER) are one of the most relevant problems in agriculture. FHB and FER induce yield losses but of main concern are quality losses due to contamination of the grain with mycotoxins that are harmful to humans and animals. Maximum toxin content in food is worldwide regulated. To date, no effective control of FHB/FER is possible: an integrated approach with proper soil preparation, crop rotation, use of fungicides and resistant plant varieties is advised but innovative control strategies are urgently needed. Fusarium causing FHB and FER can only survive in intact infected crop debris on which the fungus produces spores in the next spring. The spores can reach the flowering cereal or maize ear where infection can occur. The development of a preventive microbial soil or plant additive reducing the production of spores on crop debris or increasing plant resistance is a promising approach to control Fusarium. By reducing inoculum, infection pressure and probability of toxin contamination will be reduced. We follow 4 complementary strategies to reach our goal. We will select microbes that: 1) are specialised in fast decay of the crop debris. Fusarium cannot survive in the soil and uses colonized crop debris as a refugium. 2) show an antagonistic activity against Fusarium, inhibiting growth and sporulation on the crop debris. 3) induce systemic induced resistance: this strategy activates the natural plant defence mechanisms. 4) We will apply Ca2+, Mg2+ and Si3+. These cations enforce plant wall strength and Mg2+ inhibits mycotoxin production. 5) A mixture of microbes acting via mechanism of 1-3 plus 4, resulting in additive effect on Fusarium. To reach our goals we follow an approach of selection of microbes in the lab and greenhouse, in small field plots and in field experiments. The result will be a new product composed of a mixture of several microbes controlling Fusarium via complementary mechanisms. A company will be founded to commercialise the innovative product. The product will reduce the risk for toxin contaminated grains used for food and feed and will in the end contribute to public health.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2016-09-01 - 2019-08-31

Saatzucht Donau will develop wheat varieties of the Canadian quality class Hard Red Winter (HRW) for marketing in Canada and beyond e.g. in bordering US states. Genomic selection tools for winter hardiness based on Canadian and European field and laboratory results will be elaborated. Wheat quality of broad genetic material will be comparatively analysed in Canada and Europe with the goal of developing a quality selection index for Canadian HRW wheat enabling indirect pre - selection of genetic material in Austria prior to shipment and direct field testing in Canada and beyond. A new genepool comprising Canadian and European wheat material for mid-and long term germplasm improvement will be created using genomics and male sterile wheat mutants developed by BOKU University. New wheat varieties with improved winter hardiness and excellent yield, processing and baking quality will be introduced to the Canadian market.
Research project (§ 26 & § 27)
Duration : 2015-09-01 - 2016-08-30

Study on novel tools for plant breeding: RNA dependent tools, accelerated breeding and CRISPR-Cas. Novel technologies that have emerged recently and show potential application for plant breeding will be described and their potential assessed. In addition basic data for potential risk-assessment will be collected. In this study we will assess the potential of the new plant biotechnology tools in the view of plant breeding.

Supervised Theses and Dissertations

Forschung


Neueste SCI Publikationen

Neueste Projekte

Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2017-06-01 - 2021-05-31

Biologische Bodenhilfsstoffe basierend auf nützlichen Mikroorganismen (MO) sind eine nachhaltige Alternative zu den etablierten Düngungsmaßnahmen. Die Vorteile sind vielfältig und konnten mit dem kommerziellen Produkt Nourivit Plus erfolgreich gezeigt werden. Nourivit Plus führt zu einer höheren Aktivität der Boden-MO, schnellerem Abbau der Ernterück-stände und verbessertem Wachstum der Pflanzen. Dieses Funktionsprinzip stellt die Basis für die Entwicklung einer neuen Mischung nützlicher MO dar, mit dem Ziel die Pilzfamilie Fusarium zu unterdrücken. Die Ährenfusariose beim Getreide (Fusarium head blight, FHB) und die Kolbenfäule (Fusarium ear rot, FER) beim Mais zählen zu den größten Problemen in der Landwirtschaft. FHB und FER verursachen Qualitätsverluste durch Kontamination des Ernteguts mit Mykotoxinen, die die Gesundheit von Tier und Mensch gefährden. Weltweit wurden Grenzwerte für diese Mykotoxine festgelegt. Fusarien verursachen weltweit direkte Verluste in der Höhe von mehreren 100 Millionen € jährlich. Indirekte Kosten z.B. durch Mykotoxin Monitoring Programme und Reduktion der Haustierleistung werden noch höher geschätzt. Es gibt keine effiziente Möglichkeit FHB/FER zu verhindern. Ein intregativer Ansatz aus Feldhygiene, Fruchtfolge, Einsatz von Fungiziden und Sortenwahl wird empfohlen, aber ein innovativer Ansatz ist dringend erforderlich. Fusarien können nur in intakten infizierten Pflanzenrückständen durch Bildung von Sporen überleben. Die neuen Sporen führen zu einer Infektion der Pflanze in der nächsten Vegetationsperiode. Die Entwicklung von präventiven MO-basierter Boden- und Pflanzenhilfsstoffen, die die Produktion der Sporen an Pflanzenrückständen vermindern und die Resistenz der Pflanze gegen eine Fusarieninfektion erhöhen, stellt einen vielsprechenden Ansatz in der Kontrolle von Fusarium dar. Durch die Reduktion des Inokulums wird der Infektionsdruck und Toxinkontamination des Ernteguts vermindert. Das Projekt verfolgt Selektionskriterien zur Optimierung der MO-Mischung: 1) MO, die spezialisiert sind auf den Abbau von Pflanzenrückständen und somit den Fusarium-Infektionszyklus unterbrechen. 2) MO mit antagonistischer Wirkung gegen Fusarium, die somit das Wachstum und Sporenbildung des Pilzes inhibieren. 3) MO, die eine systemische Resistenz in der Pflanze induzieren. 4) Additive Wirkung von multivalenten Kationen (Ca2+, Mg2+, Si3+) durch die Stärkung der Pflanzenzellwand und Inhibierung der Mykotoxinbildung. 5) Auf Basis der Punkte 1-4 wird eine optimierte Formulierung der MO entwickelt. Die Selektion wird über Versuche im Labor, Glashaus und Feldversuchen unter realen Bedingungen durchgeführt. Das innovative Produkt wird eine Formulierung aus mehreren MO inklusive anorganischen Kationen, das seine komplementäre Wirkung zur Unterdrückung von Fusarien eingesetzt wird. Das Produkt wird durch ein neu gegründetes Unternehmen vermarktet. Das Produkt wird einen Beitrag zur Verbesserung des Gesundheitswesen leisten, indem das Risiko des Einsatzes von mykotoxinverseuchten Getreide vermindert wird.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2016-09-01 - 2019-08-31

Saatzucht Donau will develop wheat varieties of the Canadian quality class Hard Red Winter (HRW) for marketing in Canada and beyond e.g. in bordering US states. Genomic selection tools for winter hardiness based on Canadian and European field and laboratory results will be elaborated. Wheat quality of broad genetic material will be comparatively analysed in Canada and Europe with the goal of developing a quality selection index for Canadian HRW wheat enabling indirect pre - selection of genetic material in Austria prior to shipment and direct field testing in Canada and beyond. A new genepool comprising Canadian and European wheat material for mid-and long term germplasm improvement will be created using genomics and male sterile wheat mutants developed by BOKU University. New wheat varieties with improved winter hardiness and excellent yield, processing and baking quality will be introduced to the Canadian market.
Forschungsprojekt aus §26 oder §27 Mitteln
Laufzeit : 2015-09-01 - 2016-08-30

Erstellung eines Gutachtens im Auftrag des Gesundheitsministeriums zum Thema: Grundlagen zur Bewertung neuer Techniken in der Pflanzenzüchtung: RNA-abhängige Techniken, Accelerated Breeding und CRISPR-Cas RNA-abhängige Techniken, Accelerated Breeding und CRISPR-Cas und deren Anwendungen sollen umfangreich beschrieben werden. Ebenfalls im Bericht enthalten sein soll eine Abschätzung, wann die ersten Sorten aus diesen Verfahren am weltweiten Markt zu erwarten sind. Ein besonderes Augenmerk soll auf eine umfassende Risikobewertung/-abschätzung gelegt werden welche als Grundlage/Entscheidungshilfe zur Einstufung/Kennzeichnung der Pflanze als GVO dienen soll. Dabei muss insbesondere ein Vergleich der angeführten Methoden mit bereits regulierten Methoden erfolgen (Herstellung von GVOs, Richtilinien zu verwandten Themen). In diesem Zusammenhang soll ebenfalls ein Schwerpunkt auf gängige Nachweismethoden der neuen Züchtungstechniken gesetzt werden, weil hier die Nachweisbarkeit eine besondere Herausforderung darstellt. Generell soll der zu erwartende Impakt der neuen Methoden auf nationalem und internationalem Level dargestellt werden.

Betreute Hochschulschriften