Research


Research at the Center for Analytical Chemistry

The aims and activities of the Center for Analytical Chemistry (CAC) with its 40 staff are manifold: They range from the development and validation of modern analytical methods in environmental, food and feed analysis by rapid immunassays and mass spectrometry (LC-MS/MS) to the establishment of metabolomics platforms to study e.g. the interaction between plants and fungi. The preparation and certification of reference materials and the coordination of ring trials and proficiency testing schemes for chemical contamintants is another important area of expertise established at the CAC. The successful research at the CAC has been appreciated with the granting of several highly recognised national and international awards and over 2000 citations of our scientific publications.

Our main research objectives are

 

  • to develop novel sensitive, accurate and validated analytical liquid chromatography–mass spectrometry (LC-MS) based methods especially for multi-toxin determination in various types of food and agricultural commodities and to identify mycotoxin biomarkers for improved exposure assesssment of humans and animals to mycotoxins (Research Group on Mycotoxins at the CAC).
  • to establish a comprehensive and standardised metabolomics platform for the study of the interaction between plants and fungi to elucidate the role of secondary fungal and plant metabolites (Research Group Metabolomics and Bioactive Substances at the CAC).
  • to develop and apply GC-MS and LC-MS-based methods to determine the range of fungal and bacterial secondary metabolites in mouldy indoor samples as a means to obtaining a clearer picture on the health hazards posed by microbes that are prevalent in damp indoor environments (Research Group on Mycotoxins at the CAC, EU Project HITEA).
  • to investigate the metabolism of mycotoxins by plants, microbes and animals, to  study the fate of  masked and bound mycotoxins in vivo and to investigate the microbial interactions of free and bound toxins with a view to identifying possible detoxification routes (Christian Doppler Laboratory for Mycotoxin Metabolism).
  • to develop novel mass spectromentric methods and antibody based lateral flow devices (LFD) for the identification and quantification of allergenic proteins in cereals and foods (Research Group Immunoanalytics and Food Allergens at the CAC).
  • to develop novel quantitative real time polymerase chain reaction (qPCR) screening methods to identify and quantify specifically the DNA of mycotoxin producing fungi which allow an early classification of potentially contaminated products (in cooperation with the Vienna University of Technology, Research Group Molecular Diagnostics)
  • to develop and operate proficiency testing (PT) schemes for water analysis which can be used by laboratories world wide to check voluntarily their analytical performance for a great variety of chemical parameters within interlaboratory comparison studies (Research Group Water Analysis and QA Systems)

According to these topics, our research work falls mainly into the BOKU area of competence 5 (“Food-Nutrition-Health”), but has also relevance e.g. for mycotoxin risk management and renewable resources (competence areas 3 and 4 of the BOKU).

Forschungsaktivitäten


Forschung am Analytikzentrum

Die Ziele und Aktivitäten des Analytikzentrums (AZ) mit seinen 40 Mitarbeitern sind sehr vielfältig: Sie reichen von der Entwicklung und Validierung moderner Analysenverfahren für Umwelt- Lebensmittel- und Futtermitteluntersuchungen mit schnellen immunologischen Testsystemen und massenspektrometrischen Methoden (GC-MS und LC-MS/MS) bis zur Etablierung einer  Metabolomics-Plattform zur Erforschung der Interaktionen zwischen Pflanzen und Pilzen. Die Herstellung und Zertifizierung von Referenzmaterialien sowie die Organisation und Durchführung von Ringversuchen und regelmäßigen Laborvergleichsversuchen sind weitere wichtige Expertisen des Instituts. Mehrere am Analytikzentrum durchgeführte Forschungsarbeiten wurden mit hochangesehenen nationalen und internationalen Auszeichnungen prämiert. Unsere wissenschaftlichen Publikationen wurden bereits mehr als 2000-mal zitiert.

Neben der Aufgabe, unseren Partnern aus Industrie und Forschung präzise qualitätsgesicherte Analysenergebnisse zu liefern, gibt es am AZ folgende Forschungsschwerpunkte:

 

  • Entwicklung von neuen, empfindlichen, genauen und validierten flüssigkeitschromatografisch-massenspektrometrischen (LC-MS) Methoden, insbesondere für die Simultanbestimmung von einer Vielzahl von Pilzmetaboliten und zur Identifizierung von Biomarkern zur besseren Bewertung der Belastung von Mensch und Tier mit Mykotoxinen (Arbeitsgruppe für Mykotoxinforschung).
  • Etablierung einer umfassenden standardisierten Metabolomics-Plattform zur Erforschung der Interaktionen zwischen Pflanzen und Pilzen und zur Aufklärung der Rolle von sekundären Pilz- und Pflanzenmetaboliten (Arbeitsgruppe Metabolomics und Biologische Wirkstoffe, Sonderforschungsbereich SFB Fusarium).
  • Entwicklung und Anwendung von LC-MS-basierten Methoden zur Bestimmung der Innenraumbelastung mit sekundären Stoffwechselprodukten von Pilzen und Bakterien zur Abschätzung der damit einhergehenden Gesundheitsgefärdung (Arbeitsgruppe für Mykotoxinforschung, EU Projekt HITEA).
  • Erforschung der Stoffwechselvorgänge von Mykotoxinen in Pflanzen, Mikroorganismen und Tieren mit dem Schwerpunkt Fusarium - Mykotoxine und Aufklärung des Verhaltens von maskierten (gebundenen) Mykotoxinen in vivo (CD-Labor Mykotoxin-Metabolismus)
  • Entwicklung von neuen quantitativen real-time-Polymerase-Kettenreaktion-basierten Screening-Methoden zur Identifizierung und Quantifizierung der DNA von Mykotoxin-produzierenden Pilzen, wodurch eine rasche Früherkennung von potentiell belasteteten Produkten ermöglicht wird (in Kooperation mit der Technischen Universität Wien, Arbeitsgruppe Molekulare Diagnostik)
  • Entwicklung von neuen massenspektrometrischen Methoden und Schnelltests basierend auf immunoanalytischen Methoden für die Identifizierung und Quantifizierung allergener Proteine in Getreideprodukten und Lebensmitteln (Arbeitsgruppe Immunoanalytik und Lebensmittelallergene).
  • Entwicklung und Durchführung von regelmäßigen Ringversuchen zur Wasseranalytik, welche freiwillig von in- und ausländischen Analysenlabors genutzt werden können, um die eigene Leistungsfähigkeit bei der Bestimmung von zahlreichen chemischen Parametern nachzuweisen (Wasseranalytik und QS-Systeme)

 

Unsere Forschungsarbeiten bewegen sich damit hauptsächlich im BOKU-Kompetenzfeld "Lebensmittel, Ernährung, Gesundheit", sind aber ebenfalls relevant für die Kompetenzfelder "Wasser – Atmosphäre – Umwelt" sowie "Nachwachsende Rohstoffe und ressourcenorientierte Technologien".