General Info


fields of research

mission statement

mission statement

The IFA-Tulln is a department under the leadership of the University of Natural Resources and Life Sciences, in cooperation with the Technical University of Vienna and the University of Veterinary Medicine at the Technopol Tulln.

Structure

Today, nearly 200 employees as well as visiting scholars and students at six institutes are working with the following priorities:

 

  • Institute for Biotechnology in Plant Production: Research on Cultivated focusing plant breeding, plant genetics, plant pathology and breeding for resistance (Univ.Prof Hermann Bürstmayr.)
  • Institute for Natural Materials Technology: Harnessing renewable raw materials and industrial by-products for injection molding and profile extrusion (Ass.Prof Norbert Mundigler.)
  • Center for Analytical Chemistry: Development of effective methods in the field of (bio) analytical chemistry for the determination of pollutants and drugs, focusing on mycotoxins and food allergens. Metabolomics of plant-fungal interactions (Univ.Prof. Rudolf Krska)
  • Institute for Environmental Biotechnology: The use of microbial and enzymatic processes to create sustainable material cycles. Dismantling and decontamination of pollutants in soil, water and residual currents (Univ.Prof. Georg Gübitz)
  • Institute for Biotechnology in Animal Production: exploitation of the results of molecular and cell biology research to the practice of breeding of healthy and fertile animals (Univ.Prof Mathias Müller.)
  • Institute of Animal Nutrition, Animal Products and Nutrition: Proper feeding of farm animals and their contribution to the quality and safety of primary products. Secondary effects of individual food components on digestion, metabolism and health of animals (Univ.Prof. Martin Gierus, Ao.Univ.Prof. Wolfgang Wetscherek)

 

In order to safeguard the interests of the three participating universities (BOKU, Vienna University of Technology and University of Veterinary Medicine), there is a supervisory board, the IFA-Tulln Advisory Board. The Advisory Board, composed of members of the three universities mentioned and the Province of Lower Austria, meets three times a year.

Partner

Allgemeine Informationen


Forschungsfelder

Leitbild

Leitbild

Das IFA-Tulln ist ein Department unter der Leitung der Universität für Bodenkultur Wien, in Zusammenarbeit mit der Technischen Universität Wien und der Veterinärmedizinischen Universität Wien am Technopol-Standort-Tulln

Struktur

Heute sind fast 200 MitarbeiterInnen sowie GastwissenschafterInnen und Studierende an sechs Instituten mit folgenden Schwerpunkten tätig:

 

  • Institut für Biotechnologie in der Pflanzenproduktion: Forschung an Kulturpflanzen mit Schwerpunkt Pflanzenzüchtung, Pflanzengenetik, Phytopathologie und Resistenzzüchtung (Univ.Prof. Hermann Bürstmayr)
  • Institut für Naturstofftechnik: Nutzbarmachung nachwachsender Rohstoffe sowie industrieller Nebenprodukte für den Spritzguss und die Profilextrusion (Ass.Prof. Norbert Mundigler)
  • Analytikzentrum: Entwicklung leistungsfähiger Methoden auf dem Gebiet der (bio‑)analytischen Chemie zur Bestimmung von Schad- und Wirkstoffen mit Schwerpunkt auf Mykotoxinen und Lebensmittelallergenen. Metabolomics von Pflanze-Pilz-Interaktionen (Univ.Prof. Rudolf Krska)
  • Institut für Umweltbiotechnologie: Nutzung mikrobieller und enzymatischer Prozesse zur Schaffung nachhaltiger Stoffkreisläufe. Abbau und Entgiftung von Schadstoffen in Boden, Wasser und Restströmen (Univ.Prof. Georg Gübitz)
  • Institut für Biotechnologie in der Tierproduktion: Nutzung der Ergebnisse molekular- und zellbiologischer Forschung für die Praxis der Züchtung gesunder und fruchtbarer Tiere (Univ.Prof. Mathias Müller)
  • Institut für Tierernährung, Tierische Produkte und Ernährungsphysiologie: Sachgemäße Fütterung landwirtschaftlicher Nutztiere und ihr Beitrag zu Qualität und Sicherheit der Primärprodukte. Sekundärwirkungen einzelner Nahrungskomponenten auf Verdauung, Stoffwechsel und Gesundheit der Tiere (Univ.Prof. Martin Gierus, Ao.Univ.Prof. Wolfgang Wetscherek)

 

Um die Interessen der drei beteiligten Universitäten (BOKU, TU-Wien und VetMedUni) zu wahren, gibt es einen Aufsichtsrat, den IFA-Tulln Beirat. Der Beirat, dem Mitglieder der drei genannten Universitäten und des Landes Niederösterreich angehören, tagt dreimal im Jahr. 

Partner